Data Shredding (Dialog Box)

This help page provides information to guide you through procedure to remove all data from an array.

 

CAUTION. Before beginning the data shredding procedure, make absolutely sure that the data has migrated correctly from the source array to the new array. Once you have started the data shredding process you cannot stop it and you cannot undo it. When the process is complete, the data is unrecoverable.

The Data Shredding dialog box contains two areas: Status and Setting. The following table describes the features and controls in these areas.

 

Item

Description

Status Area (provides status of listed items)

Shredding Status

This field displays the status of the Data Shredding process.

Progress

This field displays the progress of the data removal from the source array. A value is displayed only while the data is being removed and the Shredding Status indicator shows In Progress.

Error

This field displays an error message if Data Shredding fails.

Setting Area

Note Area

This area explains the status of Data Shredding and provides instructions to continue from the current status.

Shred Data

This command starts the data removal process

Connect New Array

This command opens the Connect New Array dialog box that you use to have the failed array detect the target array.

Prerequisites: Before running this command, you must set the target array to migration mode, connect the failed array to the target array with one or two migration cables (one for each controller) and set the migration switch on the target array to Migration.

  1. Verify that Data Shredding is enabled by viewing the Shredding Status field. Data Shredding is enabled only when Shredding Status is Ready to Start. This indicates that Auto Migration has completed successfully. In addition, see the detailed status information in the Note Area described in the above table.

  2. When the status shows Ready to Start, click Shred Data to delete all the data on the failed array. A confirmation dialog box is displayed.

  3. In the confirmation dialog box, click the to confirm that you have read the warning, then click Confirm to start the data removal process, or click Cancel to exit without starting the Data Shredding process.

  4. When the data removal procedure starts running, the Shredding Status field shows Preparing, and then changes to Shredding.. When the Shredding Status field shows Shredding, the Progress field displays the percentage of shredding completed and the Setting Area includes a note that says Data Shredding is in progress.

  5. When all of the data on the array has been shredded, the Shredding Status field shows Completed Shredding. The Progress field displays 100% and the Setting Area includes a note that says Data Shredding has completed successfully.

See Also   (back to top)

The following topics within this online help provide information that may be helpful in understanding the information on this page, and/or may provide additional information that is related, but not required to understand this topic.

   Data Shredding

   Auto Migration

   Replacing an Array

 

Trademark and Legal Disclaimer.