This help page provides information to guide you through the steps to remove all the data from an array. The process is called data shredding and is part of the array migration procedure, which is part of the procedure to replace an array. It contains the following topics:
The Data Shredding function is a one step operation that deletes all the data and system information from a failed array. This process does more than just delete the data. It destroys it so that it cannot be read or recovered by any means. This protects your data from being read by anyone when you send the array back to the factory to be repaired. Note that this process can take anywhere from minutes to hours to run, depending on the amount of data stored on the array.
|
|
CAUTION. Before beginning the data shredding procedure, make absolutely sure that the data has migrated correctly from the source array to the new array. Once you have started the data shredding process you cannot stop it and you cannot undo it. When the process is complete, the data is unrecoverable. In addition, once you have completed data shredding on an array, you can no longer use that array as a target for auto migration because the data shredding function destroys the Differential Management Logical Unit (DMLU) on the drive, and the DMLU is required for auto migration. |
After you have successfully completed the Auto Migration process and have replaced the failed array with a new one, please return the failed array to your reseller. However, before returning the failed array, you may want to remove all of the data from it. Removing the data can be simplified by using the Shred Data function.
To use the Data Shredding function:
In the Explorer menu, select Settings > Replacement of Array. The Replacement of Array window is displayed.
In the window, click Shred Data. The Data Shredding dialog box is displayed. The window contains two areas: Status and Setting. The following table describes the features and controls in these areas.
|
Item |
Description |
|
Status Area (provides status of listed items) |
|
|
Shredding Status |
This field displays the status of the Data Shredding process. |
|
Progress |
This field displays the progress of the data removal from the source array. A value is displayed only while the data is being removed and the Shredding Status indicator shows In Progress. |
|
Error |
This field displays an error message if Data Shredding fails. |
|
Setting Area |
|
|
Note Area |
This area explains the status of Data Shredding and provides instructions to continue from the current status. |
|
Shred Data |
This command starts the data removal process |
|
This command opens the Connect New Array dialog box that you use to have the failed array detect the target array. Prerequisites: Before running this command, you must set the target array to migration mode, connect the failed array to the target array with one or two migration cables (one for each controller) and set the migration switch on the target array to Migration. | |
Verify that Data Shredding is enabled by viewing the Shredding Status field. Data Shredding is enabled only when Shredding Status is Ready to Start. This indicates that Auto Migration has completed successfully. In addition, see the detailed status information in the Note Area described in the above table.
When the status shows Ready to Start, click Shred Data to delete all the data on the failed array. A confirmation dialog box is displayed.
In the confirmation dialog box, click the to confirm that you have read the warning, then click Confirm to start the data removal process, or click Cancel to exit without starting the Data Shredding process.
When the data removal procedure starts running, the Shredding Status field shows Preparing, and then changes to Shredding.. When the Shredding Status field shows Shredding, the Progress field displays the percentage of shredding completed and the Setting Area includes a note that says Data Shredding is in progress.
When all of the data on the array has been shredded, the Shredding Status field shows Completed Shredding. The Progress field displays 100% and the Setting Area includes a note that says Data Shredding has completed successfully.
See Also (back to top)
The following topics within this online help provide information that may be helpful in understanding the information on this page, and/or may provide additional information that is related, but not required to understand this topic.